Alan Sayles OBE


One of the founders of Farleigh Hospice, Alan was first approached in 1980 by Glenda Lance who was looking to form a hospice in Chelmsford. Upon the charity's establishment in 1984, Alan was appointed Company Secretary and Trustee before later being appointed as Chairman. Following Alan's retirement as Chairman in 1998, Alan was appointed into a new role of President whilst volunteering as an Ambassador for Farleigh Hospice.

Alan's continuing support of Farleigh Hospice has included the purchase and development of the original hospice building on New London Road, working with other Essex hospices to set up demarcation lines, and the formation of the Forum of Chairmen of Independent Hospices to create wider links between hospice Trustees. Alan was also involved in the formation of the National Council for Palliative Care and was asked to chair a committee regarding matters of governance and relations between nursing staff and trustee bodies.

Dr. David Blainey

Chair. Committee member of Financial Governance. Chair of Clinical Governance. Appointed 2013.

David qualified as a doctor in 1975, undertaking training posts in London, Oxford, and Bristol, before moving to Broomfield Hospital. Prior to his retirement in 2012, David was appointed to a variety of positions, including Regional Director for National Cancer Peer Review, Medical Director for Mid Essex Hospitals NHS Trust, and Deputy Medical Director for MEHT (Broomfield). David's interests include travelling, music, and walking in the countryside.

Hilary Bebb

Committee member of Clinical Governance, Chair of Corporate Governance. Appointed 2011.

Hilary started her career as a nurse, had 2 daughters before qualifying as a nurse tutor, and later returned to education once again to earn her Masters Degree in Education. After a career in hospitals across London, Shropshire, Berkshire and then at Anglia Ruskin University; Hilary retired in September 2007, and now undertakes voluntary work in her village, visiting elderly, or housebound residents.

Andrew Balfour

Committee member of Financial Governance. Chair of Lottery. Appointed 2012.

Andrew worked as a solicitor and partner at international law firm Slaughter and May, before retiring in 2011 after a career of over thirty years. Since 2014 he has worked part time as Chairman of the firm’s Africa Practice Group. In addition to being a trustee of Farleigh Hospice, Andrew has had a portfolio of roles, including as a trustee of other charities and a school governor. In his spare time Andrew enjoys watching sport, going to the theatre and cinema, gardening, walking, and cycling in the countryside.

Lesley Baliga

Committee member of Clinical Governance. Appointed 2015.

Lesley is a qualified chartered certified accountant (FCCA) with experience across a range of sectors including banking and finance, education and most recently in the charity sector. Her most recent positions have been as Finance Director for the RAF Benevolent Fund and Disability Rights UK. Lesley maintains her involvement with Disability Rights UK, as a member of their finance committee. She enjoys photography, art, football and spending time with her family.

Joanna Pittman

Chair of Financial Governance. Appointed 2015.

Jo is a chartered accountant and partner at Sayer Vincent, a firm that specialises in audit and advice services for charities and social enterprises. Jo is the audit partner for several charities and she advises on charity accounting, VAT and tax and governance matters. Jo lives close to North Court Road in Broomfield with her husband and three children. Jo enjoys exploring the Essex coast and countryside and, as an archaeology graduate, she also likes visiting historical sites.

Richard Shail

Committee member of Farleigh Supplies Ltd, Financial Governance, and Lottery. Appointed 2016. 

Richard is a Chartered Accountant and was in private practice retiring in 1995. Since then he has held a number of Non Executive Directorships in the private sector. Richard has two adult children, James and Victoria. Apart from time spent with them his main interests are golf, travel and walking. He has been a Non Executive Director of the then North Essex Health Authority and Non Executive Director and Chairman of a London Housing Association.

Keith Spiller

Committee member of Clinical Governance and Lottery. Appointed 2016.

Keith worked in banking for 31 years before retiring in 2011. His last position was at UBS Investment Bank in London where he was a Managing Director in the legal department. He was responsible for setting up Legal Documentation teams in Poland and India and was Chair of the Global Documentation Management Committee. Whilst working, Keith was an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers. Keith enjoys golf, reading, music, and having a go at DIY.

Suzanne Riches

Committee member of Corporate Governance. Appointed 2017.

Suzanne is a Risk Manager working within the integrated Risk and Governance Department at the private independent charitable Hospital of St John and St Elizabeth in London. Her professional qualifications include an LLB (Hons) in law and an LLM in health, safety and environmental law. Suzanne first interacted with Farleigh when her late mother was cared for in the Inpatient Unit. Suzanne lives with her family in Roxwell, and in her spare time enjoys horse riding and walking her dogs.